Insert Logo Here United States District Court
District of Montana
Hon. Dana L. Christensen, Chief Judge
Tyler P. Gilman, Clerk of Court
















Courthouse Locations

Electronic devices, including but not limited to: cameras, cellular phones, laptops, iPods, iPads, e-readers, MP3 players, and personal digital assistants (PDAs) are not allowed in any Montana federal courthouse. Please see Local Rules 1.3(d) for more information.

Government issued photo identification (e.g., drivers license, military identification, etc.) is required upon entering any Montana federal courthouse.

Please do not bring/wear excessive metal objects such as pocket knives, key chains, belts, jewelry, etc., as you will be passing through metal detectors at the security check-in.


There are five federal courthouses in Montana. Click on the image below for specific courthouse location and contact information.

James F. Battin Federal Courthouse
Billings, MT

Mike Mansfield Federal Courthouse
Butte, MT

Missouri River Federal Courthouse
Great Falls, MT

Paul G. Hatfield Federal Courthouse
Helena, MT

Russell Smith Federal Courthouse
Missoula, MT


Click HERE for a map outlining counties serviced by each divisional court location.

For information on federal courthouses throughout the United States, please visit the Federal Court Locator.

| ©2011 U.S. District Court Montana