U. S. District Court Judges District of Montana 1889 - 2016

Under Article III of the United States Constitution, the President appoints **United States District** Judges, with the advice and consent of the United States Senate. The U.S. District Court for the District of Montana has grown from its original one Judge in 1889 to its current three Judges and two Senior Judges.

Judgeship #1

On February 22, 1889
Congress organized
Montana as one Judicial
District, authorized on e
judgeship for the U.S.
District Court and
assigned the District of
Montana to the Ninth
Circuit.

Iudgeship #2

September 14, 1922, one temporary Judgeship was authorized by 42 Stat. 837. This Judgeship was made permanent by 52 Stat. 584 on May 31, 1938.

<u>Judgeship #3</u>

On July 10, 1984 the third Judgeship was authorized by 98 Stat. 333.

DISTRICT OF MONTANA - JUDGESHIP #2 (1922)



Charles Nelson Pray (1924 - 1963)

Nominated by Calvin Coolidge, and received commission on February 8, 1924. Served as Chief Judge, 1948 - 1957. Assumed Senior status on April 10, 1957. Service terminated upon death, September 12, 1963.



William James Jameson (1957 - 1990)

Nominated by Dwight D. Eisenhower, and received commission on March 28, 1957. Served as Chief Judge, 1965 - 1968. Assumed Senior status on February 27, 1969. Service terminated upon death, October 8, 1990.



James Franklin Battin (1969 - 1996)

Nominated by Richard M. Nixon, and received commission on February 27, 1969. Served as Chief Judge, 1978 - 1990. Assumed Senior status on February 13, 1990. Service terminated upon death, September 27, 1996.



Jack D. Shanstrom (1990 - 2013)

Nominated by George H.W. Bush, and received commission on May 14, 1990. Served as Chief Judge, 1996 - 2001. Assumed Senior status on January 30, 2001. Service terminated due to retirement on September 15, 2013



Richard F. Cebull (2001 - 2013)

Nominated by George W. Bush, and received commission on July 25, 2001. Served as Chief Judge, 2008-2013. Assumed Senior status on March 18, 2013. Service terminated due to retirement on May 3, 2013.



Susan P. Watters (2013 - Present)

Nominated by Barack Obama, and received commission on December 19, 2013.