FILED

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

DEC - 1 2016

Clerk, U.S. District Court District Of Montana Billings

In re: Assignment of Cases

STANDING ORDER No. DLC-30

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that effective December 1, 2016, Standing Order DLC-23, which has governed case assignments in the District of Montana, is withdrawn.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that effective December 1, 2016, this Standing Order shall govern all case assignments for all matters filed in the divisions of this district:

1) Assignment of Cases Relating to Certain Voting, Electoral, and Constitutional Matters: Regardless of the division of filing, any civil case involving reapportionment, voting rights, campaign finance or disclosure laws, or otherwise relating to elections is to be assigned by random draw from among the following judicial officers: Chief District Judge Dana L. Christensen, District Judge Brian Morris, District Judge Susan P. Watters, District Judge Sam E. Haddon, District Judge Donald W. Molloy, Senior District Judge Charles C. Lovell, Magistrate Judge Timothy J. Cavan, Magistrate Judge Jeremiah C. Lynch, and Magistrate Judge John T. Johnston.

- 2) Assignment of cases to United States Magistrate Judges: Unless the parties consent to the jurisdiction of a magistrate judge pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(c), in any instance in which a United States magistrate judge is assigned a case under this Order, the following district judges shall preside: For cases venued in the Billings Division, District Judge Susan P. Watters shall be the presiding district judge; for cases venued in the Great Falls or Butte Divisions, District Judge Brian Morris shall be the presiding district judge; and for cases venued in the Missoula or Helena Divisions, Chief District Judge Dana L. Christensen shall be the presiding district judge.
- 3) Billings Division: Excepting those cases described in Paragraph 1, civil cases filed in the Billings Division shall be assigned to District Judge Susan P. Watters and Magistrate Judge Timothy J. Cavan in accordance with the Local Rules of Procedure. The random assignment of such cases, except as otherwise provided by statute, shall be done such that one quarter (1/4) of the civil cases filed shall be assigned to Judge Watters and three quarters (3/4) to Judge Cavan.

Criminal cases filed in the Billings Division shall be assigned to District Judge Susan P. Watters.

4) Butte Division: Excepting those cases described in Paragraph 1, civil cases filed in the Butte Division shall be assigned to District Judge Brian Morris,

District Judge Sam E. Haddon, and Magistrate Judge Jeremiah C. Lynch in accordance with the Local Rules of Procedure. The random assignment of such cases, except as otherwise provided by statute, shall be done such that one quarter (1/4) of the civil cases filed shall be assigned to Judge Morris, five sixteenths (5/16) to Judge Haddon, and seven sixteenths (7/16) to Judge Lynch.

Criminal cases filed in the Butte Division shall be assigned to Chief District Judge Dana L. Christensen.

5) Great Falls Division: Excepting those cases described in Paragraph 1, civil cases filed in the Great Falls Division shall be assigned to District Judge Brian Morris and Magistrate Judge John T. Johnston in accordance with the Local Rules of Procedure. The random assignment of such cases, except as otherwise provided by statute, shall be done such that one half (1/2) of the civil cases filed shall be assigned to Judge Morris and one half (1/2) to Judge Johnston.

Criminal cases filed in the Great Falls Division shall be assigned to District Judge Brian Morris.

6) Helena Division: Excepting those cases described in Paragraph 1, civil cases filed in the Helena Division shall be assigned to District Judge Sam E.

Haddon, Senior Judge Charles C. Lovell and Magistrate Judge John T. Johnston in accordance with the Local Rules of Procedure. The random assignment of such

cases, except as otherwise provided by statute, shall be done such that three sixteenths (3/16) of the civil cases filed shall be assigned to Judge Haddon, three sixteenths (3/16) to Judge Lovell, and five eighths (5/8) to Judge Johnston.

Any criminal case filed in the Helena Division in which any of the following statutory offenses is charged shall be assigned to Senior Judge Charles C. Lovell:

18 U.S.C. §§ 116, 117, 2241–2245, 2251–2258B, 2251A, 2252, 2252A, 2252B, 2252C, and 2253.

Collectively, criminal case assignments in the Helena Division shall be made such that one half (1/2) of the criminal cases filed shall be assigned to District Judge Sam E. Haddon, and one half (1/2) to Judge Lovell.

7) Missoula Division: Excepting those cases described in Paragraph 1, civil cases filed in the Missoula Division shall be assigned to Chief District Judge Dana L. Christensen, District Judge Donald W. Molloy, and Magistrate Judge Jeremiah C. Lynch in accordance with the Local Rules of Procedure. The random assignment of such cases, except as otherwise provided by statute, shall be done such that two fifths (2/5) of the civil cases filed shall be assigned to Judge Christensen, one fifth (1/5) to Judge Molloy, and two fifths (2/5) to Judge Lynch.

Criminal cases filed in the Missoula Division shall be assigned to Chief

District Judge Dana L. Christensen and District Judge Donald W. Molloy on a random basis, such that three quarters (3/4) of the criminal cases filed shall be assigned to Judge Christensen and one quarter (1/4) to Judge Molloy.

The clerk shall immediately inform all divisional offices, the judicial officers of this district, and the United States Probation Office of the entry of this Standing Order.

DATED this 30th day of November, 2016.

Dana L. Christensen, Chief Judge

United States District Court