

United States District Court District of Montana

TYLER P. GILMAN CLERK OF COURT DISTRICT OF MONTANA TYLER_GILMAN@MTD.USCOURTS.GOV RUSSELL E. SMITH COURTHOUSE 201 E. BROADWAY MISSOULA, MT 59802 TELEPHONE: 406-542-7260

July 12, 2019

COURT ANNOUNCEMENT

The United States District Court for the District of Montana announces that the formal investiture of United States Magistrate Judge Kathleen L. DeSoto will take place August 2, 2019, at 3:30 p.m. in the Donald W. Molloy Courtroom at the Russell Smith Courthouse in Missoula, Montana.

Chief United States District Judge Dana L. Christensen will preside over the proceeding, and the oath of office will be administered by United States District Judge Donald W. Molloy.

Ms. DeSoto, of Missoula, was selected from a highly qualified group of finalists compiled by a court-appointed merit selection panel. She comes to the court from private practice, where she was a partner at Garlington, Lohn & Robinson. Ms. DeSoto began her legal career as a law clerk to retired United States District Judge Jack D. Shanstrom.

The District of Montana has three full-time magistrate judge positions, located in Missoula, Billings, and Great Falls. Ms. DeSoto will become the third magistrate judge to serve on a full-time basis in the Missoula Division. She will succeed retiring United States Magistrate Judge Jeremiah C. Lynch.